Double click on any on the
images below to enlarge!
known as “the Lang Toon” (Long Town), for its mile-long high
street. Probably originates from King Malcolm Ceanmor (1052 –
93). The town was strategically situated between Stirling and
Perth. In 1716 the retreating Jacobite Army burnt it after the
Battle of Sheriffmuir, thus many of the houses date from the
18th Century. Today it has built an excellent reputation for its
many independent shops.
Located at the west end of Loch Earn is the centre for
water-sports activities on the loch. Visitors have a choice of
water sports centres as well as hotels and restaurants. A
parking and picnic area is also provided with public toilets and
tourist information boards. There are walks on the southern loch
side as well as up Glen Ogle to the north. Located five miles
west of St Fillans on the A85.
Wester. A small hamlet located on the old Perth Crieff road
and on the droving route from the north to the cattle trysts at
Crieff and Falkirk. This small village was once a thriving
community with a population of over 1200 in 1974. The village is
by the excellently restored 13th Century Church of St Bean’s. A
replica Pictish stone stands in the village square, the original
to be found in the church. Parking area between the church and
village hall. 5 miles east of Crieff off A85.
Stone. This original stone dates from the 8th or 9th century
and has the unusual feature of protruding arms of the Cross
indicating Irish influence. If you look to the left of the
Pictish stone you will find a Pictish Symbol Stone, which
probably dates back to St Bean’s time and is one of the finest
in existence. Please remember to leave a donation in the church
to help toward its maintenance for future generations to enjoy.
A replica Pictish stone stands in the village square. Located in
St Bean’s Kirk, Fowlis Wester.
St Bean’s Kirk. St Bean was the great
grandson of Aedh Dubh, King of Leinster in Ireland, who became
Bishop of Feighcullen in Co. Kildare. St Bean preached the
gospel here in order to eradicate some of the dark pagan
practices associated with standing stones nearby.
Open all year. Located in Fowlis Wester 5 miles east of Crieff
Braco. At this small village is the site
of Ardoch the Roman Fort. Also to be seen in Braco is the ruin
of Braco Free Church and the old Pack Horse Bridge which stands
alongside the present bridge over the River Knaik. Braco is
located 10 miles south of Crieff on the A822.
Village Museum is in a former home which dates from circa
1760. the museum has many fascinating local artefacts including
photos, curling stones, household items from a by-gone age and
agricultural implements. An excellent starting point if
researching your family tree: the museum has details of burials
in the adjoining grave yard and the local museum volunteers may
well be able to help. Open June to Sept, Wed, Sat & Sun 12.30pm
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org for details. Located just past the
graveyard, off the main street, in the centre of Muthill.
Muthill Old Church & Tower. The site of a
Culdee “servants of God” community dating back
to the 9th
ruined church, which was in use until the 1820’s, has many
interesting features: the tower dates back to 1140 and has two
gargoyles at the summit known as the King and Queen, round
Norman arched belfry windows, medieval ‘craw stepped’ gables and
gravestones that date back to the 17th Century. Open all year.
Fillans. This picturesque small village set at the west end
of Loch Earn is a tranquil beauty spot where visitors can enjoy
walking, a game of golf, resting at the loch-side or refreshments
at one of the hotels in the village. Neish Island, located a
short distance offshore in the loch, is an ancient Crannog or
dwelling place. St Fillans is located 6 miles west of Comrie on
Comrie / Crieff / Dunning / Free Visitor Guide / Other places / Other villages